Our huge thanks to Players Theatre for their unstinting support with the 2019 One Act Play Festival , we had a great week but we can’t do it without committed support from the host theatre and as you can see from the Adjudicator’s Award, we received that in spades, so thank you Players Theatre.

We saw a terrific week of very high standard theatre  and whilst congratulations are obviously extended to all winners, congratulations and thanks are also extended to all the entrants for taking part in this competitive festival and all that getting a play together involves. This contributes to the value of this vital festival because One Act Plays Rock! – keep writing them and keep on entering them. We look forward to seeing you next year. The winners’ list for 2019 is below. Thank you.

GMDF 2019 One Act Play Festival Winners

SECTION A (up to 14 years of age)

Andrew Winton Trophy ~ Best Performance

Name               Stephen Preston
Character         Bowler
Piece                Hiss The Villain
Company         Altrincham Creative Theatre School

Certificate of Merit   Jean Edwards for Lucy in The Blackshaws – Guide Bridge Theatre (Youth)

Brenda Gillatt Trophy ~ Best Production

Piece              Hiss The Villain
Company       Altrincham Creative Theatre School

Certificate of Merit   All The Cast of The Blacksahws – Guide Bridge (Youth)

SECTION B (15 to 18 years of age)

Nan Nuttall Trophy ~ Best Production

Piece             Ten Point One
Company       Summerseat PlayersYouth

Bertram Holland Trophy ~ Best Performance

Name               James Wilcock
Character         The Smooth One
Piece                Ten Point One
Company         Summerseat Players Youtth

Certificates of Merit   Sarah Morgan – for Martha in the Magdalen Whitewash –  Players Youth Theatre


Settlement Players Trophy ~ Best Production

Piece          The Anderson
Company   Players Theatre

Stanley Harrower Cup ~ Best Performance

Name         Chris Billington
Character   Elbie
Piece          The Anderson
Company   Players Theatre

Certificate of Merit –  Nick Worthington –  Ethan  – The Pint –  Droylsden Little Theatre


Vicki Lane Award (Meritorious Director)

Name          Geoff Millard
Piece           The Cagebirds
Company    Apeel Drama Group

Robert L Goodwin Trophy (Outstanding Actor)

Name               Ian Chatterton
Characters      Jake
Piece               The Pint
Company         Droylsden  Little Theatre

Cyril V Hines Trophy (Outstanding Actress)

Name            Denise Vaughan
Character     Sandra
Piece             Sparrows
Company     Carver Theatre

Julie Emmanuel Trophy (Best Comedy performance)

Name            David Wilkinson
Characters   He
Piece             Sat Love
Company      Woodford Players

Cliff Walker Trophy (Best Presentation)

Company    Players Theatre
Piece           The Anderson

Certificate of Merit – Carver Theatre – Sparrows

Theatre Royal Trophy (Adjudicator’s Award) – Players Theatre for their hospitality, efficiency in the Front of House and ensuring the adjudicator’s role ran as smoothly as possible.

SECTION D (Original Play)

Playwright’s Workshop Trophy

Writer        Paul Bracewell
Piece         Crap and Ten Point One
Company  Summerseat Players Youth

2019 One Act Programme cover

Please click on the image to read a flipbook verion of the programme


FacebooktwittermailFacebooktwittermail ~ share
Scroll to Top