The 2022 One Act Play Festival

Our huge thanks to Carver Theatre for their support with the 2022 One Act Play Festival. Clearly, the world of Theatreland is, understandably, not yet “back to normal” but that said, we had a great Festival with some lovely, strong, high quality entries which made Carmel’s job really difficult.

Congratulations are obviously extended to all winners but congratulations and thanks are also extended to all the entrants for taking part in this competitive festival and all that getting a play together involves. This contributes to the value of this vital festival because One Act Plays are Fabulous Daaaahhhling! – keep writing them and keep on entering them. We look forward to seeing you next year. The winners’ list for 2022 is below. Thank you one and all.

GMDF 2022 One Act Play Festival Winners

SECTION A (up to 14 years of age)

Andrew Winton Trophy ~ Best Performance

Name               Heidi Elliot
Character         Lacey
Piece                Friendship
Company         Base Performing Arts Society

Certificate of Merit   Base Performing Arts for their production of Friendship

Brenda Gillatt Trophy ~ Best Production

Piece              Not Awarded

SECTION B (15 to 18 years of age)

Bertram Holland Trophy ~ Best Performance

Name              Adele Cotteverte Roque

Character         Adele
Piece                Let’s Talk
Company         Heald Green Theatre Co

Nan Nuttall Trophy ~ Best Production

Piece             Let’s Talk
Company      Heald Green Theatre Co

Certificate of Merit –  Carver Juniors for their production of Pig Tale

Certificate of Merit –  Lily Rae Lyne for her portrayal of Doctor Watson in The Emerald of Alcazar performed by Manchester Theatre Academy

Certificate of Merit –  Evie Quinlan for her portrayal of Lestrade in The Emerald of Alcazar performed by Manchester Theatre Academy

Certificate of Merit –  Imogen Lynton for her performance in Let’s Talk performed by Heald Green Theatre Co

Certificate of Merit –  Jayson Currie for his portrayal of The Big Bad Wolf in Pig Tale performed by Carver Juniors


Stanley Harrower Cup ~ Best Performance

Name         Sian Weedon
Character   Anna
Piece          Swallow
Company   Nantwich Players

Settlement Players Trophy ~ Best Production

Piece          Swallow
Company   Nantwich Players

Certificate of Merit –  Apeel Drama Group for their performance of Last Tango in Little Grimley


Vicki Lane Award (Meritorious Director)

Name          Chloe Kayes
Piece           Pig Tale
Company    Carver Juniors

Robert L Goodwin Trophy (Outstanding Actor)

Name               Matt Rigby
Character        Victor
Piece               A Difficult Man
Company        Carver Theatre

Cyril V Hines Trophy (Outstanding Actress)

Name            Nathalie Haley
Character     Ursula
Piece             A Difficult Man
Company     Carver Theatre

Julie Emmanuel Trophy (Best Comedy performance)

Name            Margaret Williams
Character     Edna
Piece             Slim Chance
Company      Woodford Players

Cliff Walker Trophy (Best Presentation)

Company    Carver Theatre
Piece           A Difficult Man

Theatre Royal Trophy (Adjudicator’s Award) – Alice Galvin, Amy Flaherty, Billy Power for their performance in Housemates for Manchester Theatre Academy.

Certificate of Merit –  Woodford Players for Fabulous Costumes in Untucked

SECTION D (Original Play)

Playwright’s Workshop Trophy

Writer        Andrew Wild
Piece         A Difficult Man
Company  Carver Theatre

FacebooktwittermailFacebooktwittermail ~ share
Scroll to Top